• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

MA BFS Instructor Questions...

Hello,

As my profile states, I am an NRA Certified RSO, Pistol Instructor, Rifle Instructor, Shotgun Instructor. I am on the local BSA Shooting Sports Committee. I am also a Mass Certified BFS Instructor. Every time I'm able to come up with an answer for 1 question surround teaching the MA required BFS course, it leads to 3+ more!

It is because of my NRA certifications that I have my MA BFS instructor certificate. As you all are are, the new "Blended" format the NRA has pushed through, the 8-hour basic pistol course isn't necessarily the most practical way to help people get their MA LTCs. I'm currently working on coordinating a class with a few people so we can be certified to teach the NRA Home Safety Course, though we want to incorporate a live-fire component afterword. It sounds as though many people are now moving away from the NRA courses and teaching other MA approved courses. My questions ultimately lead to HOW???

The are only 26 MA approved LTC (and 3 FID) courses. All of the approved courses are proprietary material. This means that instructors either need to become certified to teach the proprietary classes or develop their own and submit it to the state for approval. Breaking that down:

1) Proprietary courses: They aren't for just anyone to teach. Only S&W employees can teach the S&W course, only AG Firearms can teach the LTC-017 course, only ISI can teach the LTC-010 course, etc... What are private MA BFS instructors switching over to?

2) Developing your own syllabus for approval: In speaking with Lt. Zani (taking over the MA BFS certification process from Lt. Nugent) I have learned that he has a stack of proposed classes waiting to be gone through for approval. If I develop my own, what's the approval submission process? How long does it take?