• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Handloads for IDPA

Mil-Dot

Instructor
NES Member
Does anyone out there know of a good resource for information on handloads for IDPA applications? So much too consider; recoil, velocity, bullet wt, bullet BC, etc., while still meeting the minimum power floor.
Mil-Dot

Wow- that was one open ended question! First get a chrono or make sure you can borrow one. Don't go nuts with experimenting with loads until you get more knowledge.

I assume you have at least a couple reloading books?

Thanks for the info. Note: I've been reloading for about 20 years but I'm new to the IDPA sport. I've worked-up loads for HP rifle comps, hunting, etc. Recoil has never been an issue until now and I was hoping that someone out there had some recommended loads that I could use as a baseline. As far a using a chrony, I never leave home without it[wink]
Sorry for not being clear in my original post.

Mostly 9mm for now (that's what I've been using) but would like info on .40S&W and .45ACP since I would like to try those as well. I have all the reloading components I need but looking for recommendations on different bullets (manufactures, wts, BC, etc.) powders (types and charge), and so on. I am aware that IDPA reloads do not need to meet bench-rest standards, I guess I'm looking for the best bullet/powder combo that will shoot flat and consistent with minimum recoil. I know that a great load that shoots out of one firearm may not in another. I'm just looking for a starting point to work-up loads (to save me time and money[wink]).
Mil-Dot

Titegroup seems to be the most common and well liked powder for 9mm and .40. Montana Gold or Zero the common bullet makers. They are both accurate. 125gr is typical weight for 9mm. 180gr for .40.