Do call signs get recycled?

dwarven1

Lonely Mountain Arms
I was on the ARRL site and noticed a search box for call signs. For some reason I can still remember the call sign for the ham who ran the radio shack when I was in summer camp - back in '73! So I looked it up.

Urg... Just looked again and saw that what was labeled "issue date" was actually the date when "license renewed".

Well, anyway, would this guy still be the same one? Honestly, I don't remember his name, just the call sign. I'm thinking I'll try to get in touch with him once I get my license.

(Yeah, I'm reading the book now... - Dad & I studied code in the '70s but never got our licenses. I'm thinking it's time now. Since I have some spare time, and all.)

They do get re-used, at least as vanity calls. I don't think they've looped around on sequential calls. If you look up the call on QRZ and click on details, what does it say under codes? If there's no V in it, it's almost definitely the same guy. If there is a V it's less likely, but it still could be. There's some places you can look up history also. If you post or PM me the call, I can do some digging.

If you look up the call on QRZ and click on details, what does it say under codes? If there's no V in it, it's almost definitely the same guy. If there is a V it's less likely, but it still could be.
I don't even know what that first sentence means - when I say I'm still reading the book, I'm not kidding. Starting from scratch, as it were.

The call is WA2IZQ. As I said, I'm just wondering if it's the same guy 37 years later.