Considering Buying the S&W 1911PD

Hi All,

Looking for advice, info, and comments. I have been shooting the S&W M&P 9c for about a year now, with firing over 3500 rounds. Early on, I had the sear replaced to the out of MA stock sear to reduce the trigger pull to about 6.5lbs. I enjoy the gun, and I am reasonably accurate with it.

Now, I am thinking of buying the S&W 1911PD .45 ACP, and I have no experience with 1911's or .45ACP. I turn to the experts on this forum to get your opinions (and the facts if you have them) about that particular gun, and carrying a .45 ACP. What other 1911's are legal in MA? I am accustomed to the recoil of the 9mm -- how much more should I expect from the 45? I am not a big guy -- 5' 8" weighing 170 lbs., in pretty good shape (work out regularly). I shoot about 100 rounds a week -- am I going to be killed financially by using the 45 weekly with increased ammo cost? How does it feel to carry the 45 rather than the 9mm -- I generally use an OWB holster, but occasionally an IWB.

Any input to this, plus anything else in this regard, would be greatly appreciated. I know, lots of questions, but I am still a newbie to shooting. Also, thinking of trying IDPA -- is the S&W 1911PD a good choice for this?

Thanks

IMO the 1911is the ultimate handgun and a must have for all gun owners. I have a colt but, shoot a SS S+W 1911 and a S+W 1911 performance center on a regular basis. My grandfather started me into pistol shooting on 1911. The recoil is a little more, but you will get used to it. After getting the feel of a 1911’s trigger pull you will not look at the MP the same again. Some shops sell reloads as long as you turn in the brass. If you don’t currently reload, Cabalas sells bulk .45’s which may help with the cost of ammo.