CCW Permit Question

Just received my CCW for New Hampshire...

Now I have my original flimsy piece of paper in my car next to my registration. But I also used a photo-copier at work to size it down, and then I laminated it so it fits nicely into my wallet.

My question is this:

Does that nicely laminated piece that I KNOW will last me until 2009 work, or must I produce the original and hope it stays together in my wallet until 2009?

I'd think my laminated one would work, since it is fully legable, etc. And I can't see any law for/against it. But I have very little actual experience in this area.

Thanks in advance!!!

Carter

My first NH NR CCW was flimsy paper, but it was the size of a credit card, so I laminated it. Not a problem.

Reducing the size of the real thing/laminating it and carrying it might be iffy. If I were a challenging officer and the person acted reasonably, I'd give it a pass. If someone aroused my suspicions, then I'd pull out the rule book! Attitude is everything, ask any officer you are friendly with.

As noted, non-origional probably depends on the state law.

In MA, you don't have a LTC if you're not carying it IN HAND. That being said, any coppies don't cut it. We can check your license status on "the computer"(It is a pain, but possible), so if all you have is a copy, it can be verified that you do infact have an active LTC.

Some states dont require the license to be in-hand, as its easier to check LTC status in the computer i assume, therefore a copy is OK, becsaue having the origoinal isnt necessary itself...

Personaly, I keep a copy of my LTC at home, in my work bag, with my registration, and in my safe deposit box...

This is based on reading an experience of a PA resident who was arrested on a supposed gun violation, they took his firearms license, then charged him with never having one. Trust no one, and CYA....

Republic of Mass said: