• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR15 AR10 Pistol Grip in Wood

I'm working on an AR10 build off an 80% lower and I decided I didn't want to use standard grips on it. So this is my first attempt at making some I like out of Walnut. As of today I'm not fully happy with what I made and will be making another more refined to my wants, but I did learn much in making my first one. Here are some ideas that may assist someone else doing this.

Wood4grips_zpsi3olq4mh.jpg

Grips: M16, M16A2, Executive Ordinance, My lump of wood.

Woodgrip_zpszxrrxlvr.jpg

My lump of wood. While maybe not the coolest looking thing it fits my hand great, the slots provide tons of purchase when I have my gloves on, the more rectangular overall shape lends a better sense of direction than military grips (The executive Ordinance is nice this way too).

TLDR follows;

The first concern is the geometry of the top where it meets the receiver and the alignment of the bolt hole. I'm a knuckle-dragger, so figuring all this out in a rational manner was impossible, so I took a spare A2 style grip and cut it in half to see directly what was going on inside. The bolt holes are parallel to the front of the grip -important to know, check! The inside of the grip panel doesn't contact the stub on the receiver but relies on the left and right outer edge dimensions - important to know - check!

Grip%2002_zpsltezldfv.jpg

Insides of a stock M16A2 Grip. This image is perhaps the most important thing in this post. Hopefully it will save you from needing to cut a grip in half. notice scribed line in left hand side top - that's the line of the reciever stub that goes into the grip (note: this is my aftermarket 80% AR10 receiver - yours may vary). Notice also the bolt hole is parallel to the front edge of the grip.