.45 IDPA/USPSA Ammo

Hey fellas,

I'd like to get started shooting competitively with a 5" .45 (1911) but have no idea what ammo to buy and/or reload.

I'd like to start off with factory loads, then reload the cases. I'm assuming SWCs are in order...correct? If so, lead or FMJ?

Was considering FGMM FMJ-SWC in 185gr. Would this be a good starting point?

Sorry if this is common knowledge, I'm totally new to this.

Chris

I am using 185gr lead swc for USPSA loaded to 1.245 OAL with 5.3gr Titegroup. I get 925 FPS out of my S&W 5" 1911. Why not just get some once fired brass from the range and load your own?

As far as factory you can not go wrong with Winchester White Box, but I agree, why not load your own?

Rigth now I am running 230gr round nose lead over 4.5gr of titegroup with OAL of 1.25. Making major in my 5" 1911.

I'd like to start off with factory loads, then reload the cases. I'm assuming SWCs are in order...correct? If so, lead or FMJ?

I'd say that you'll find more people at an IDPA match firing 230 gr FMJ round nose than 185 gr SWC. Either will work. Frankly, it just doesn't matter much as long as the ammunition is reliable, reasonably accurate, and meets the required power -- which any 230 gr FMJ factory ammunition will do.

Hey fellas,

I'd like to get started shooting competitively with a 5" .45 (1911) but have no idea what ammo to buy and/or reload.

Chris
Chris,
Most shooters I've seen shooting .45 ACP 1911s in CDP (the .45 cal division in IDPA) or in Single Stack (the 1911 division in USPSA) shoot 230 grain round nose, but you can customize your load to function in your firearm.

Respectfully,
jkelly