1. If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

2. Dismiss Notice

Anyone Work Comms for Boston Marathon?

Discussion in 'HAM Radio' started by cockpitbob, Apr 14, 2014.

1. cockpitbob

cockpitbob NES Member

I've never worked a public service event before and this Monday I'll be in First Aid Tent #14 in Wellesley. That's more than half way through the course so it should see a bit of action.

Being a public service green horn, jumping into one of the biggest events to get my feet wet is a little daunting.

I've got my HT, back-up HT, programming cheat sheets, spare batteries, 18" long antenna, HTs pre-programmed with all the event frequencies, pens and notebook, ear bud adapter and ear buds, speaker mic and a a few other things, but it looks like the no backpacks rule applies to volunteers too, so I'm going to have a very long day without being able to bring a lot of gear. They say fanny packs are OK, but oh, the shame.

Anyone work the Marathon? Got any advice?

Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
    2 people like this.
  2. chaser001

chaser001 Member

I will be at the south street parking area in Hopkinton so my truck and spare gear won't be far away. I think the no bag rule will be a learning experience for everyone.

3. Woodstock

Woodstock NES Member

Clear plastic kid's backpack or a photographer's vest come to mind. I heard that backpacks aren't verboten, just subject to searches.

4. cockpitbob

cockpitbob NES Member

Being mid-course I suppose I'll be able to park pretty close.

Chaser, is this your first time working the event? What's your assignment?

5. chaser001

chaser001 Member

Yes this is my first time working the marathon. I am asigned to the suth street parking area near the start line.

6. cockpitbob

cockpitbob NES Member

I have a feeling we're going to have sore feet Monday night.