Purchase a lower as a lower or rifle?

LedZep

NES Member
What's the difference or benefits of purchasing a JUST a lower from an FFL "sold as a rifle" or "just a lower receiver". I have the option of one or the other. And I don't understand what the pros and cons of one or the other is. Anyone? Bueller?

I could be wrong. But if a lower was built (sold as) a rifle previously, it can never be a pistol. A "just a lower" could be built as either.

I am not a lawyer and I do not understand a lot of firearm laws, this is just what I have read before.

Unless it’s a complete rifle, it should be sold as an other. Not just benefits, but legally that is the correct thing to do.

The benefits of that, federally, is that you can build it into a pistol first. If you build a pistol first, you can turn it into a rifle and then back into a pistol at will. If you build it as a rifle first, it will forever be a rifle and the only legal way to use a sub-16” barrel is to SBR it.

If you’re in MA, the benefit of transferring it properly as a federal “other” is that it is not firearm according to MA law and no FA-10 is required during the transaction.

Last edited:
Unless it’s a complete rifle, it should be sold as an other. Not just benefits, but legally that is the correct thing to do.

The benefits of that, federally, is that you can build it into a pistol first. If you build a pistol first, you can turn it into a rifle and then back into a pistol at will. If you build it as a rifle first, it will forever be a rifle and the only legal way to use a sub-16” barrel is to SBR it.

If you’re in MA, the benefit of transferring it properly as a federal “other” is that it is not firearm according to MA law and no FA-10 is required during the transaction.
Thank you. If I understand correctly, I can add a short barrel and be fully legal and not have to do an SBR if I get it as lower receiver only. Correct? If so, that's a huge benefit.