• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Your Knife

I'm contemplating purchasing or maybe even forging my own fixed blade. I'm not really an expert on the pros and cons of different knife types, and the internet "experts" make the 9mm vs 45 ACP people look like educated scholars. I'm just wondering what you, yes YOU, use as a knife when you're in the woods hunting or fishing, hiking, camping, whatever. Why do you use/carry it instead of something else and what are key features you find important or things you find annoying. The steel, the grind, blade type, weight, handle color, whatever.

EDC cityfolks with folders feel free to weigh in too. Its more about finding out what people more experienced than myself think than what the perfect fixed blade is, I just already have some solid preferences and biases with folding knives.

A nice Buck 110 or 119 is perfect for any of this stuff. Case knives are high quality. Making your own equal to the quality of these will take practice and patience. Otherwise, if you have some $$$$- Randall knives are the Caddy of custom knives.

A nice Buck 110 or 119 is perfect for any of this stuff. Case knives are high quality. Making your own equal to the quality of these will take practice and patience. Otherwise, if you have some $$$$- Randall knives are the Caddy of custom knives.

General Outdoor Knife - Buck 110, Buck 119, Buck Pathfinder, K-Bar.

Camping Knives - Swiss Army Knife, Plus Any of the Above, Plus Spetznaz Shovel, Gransfor Bruks Hatchet, and BAHCO Lapplander Folding Saw (Awesome saw!)

EDC Knife - Kershaw, Emmerson, Benchmade Folders, Swiss Army Knife, Leatherman Wave, Leatherman Keychain Knives

Survival Knife - Gerber LMFII, hands down the best survival knife for the dollar

I have an Emerson CQC7B for EDC that gets a lot of hard use and holds up great.