• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

X Frame Smith and Wesson explodes @ range *pics*

Looks like his 16yo son reloaded with the wrong powder, damn.

"Based on what I can tell, failure would likely be due to excessive crimp, or wrong powder. I do not know how to evaluate crimp once it is done. As for powder, there is a possibility that Hodgdon Titegroup was used rather than H110. Both powders are available on the bench, and I can see how my son might have grabbed that powder knowing that we do use it in other handgun loads. Titegroup requires a much lighter load than H110. I am not an expert, but 40 grains of Titegroup migh have made the cartridge fail cataclysmically."

Years ago, a gunsmith showed me a Ruger Super Blackhawk that kaboomed. It looked remarkably similar. Top strap was separated and bent, cylinder torn in half. The customer that brought him the gun said that he had been experimenting with duplex loads (two different powders layered in the same case...no, I have no idea why anyone would do that). In both of these cases, the shooters walked away with no major injuries. The guy with the Ruger claimed that the first two rounds shot fine, the third one took the gun apart.

As for the guy with the S&W, I would guess one of two things. The previous round was undercharged (squib) and left a bullet lodged in the barrel, or more likely, he double charged a case.

One thing's for sure: that won't buff out, and no amount of duct tape will fix it. He got a $1300 lesson. He's lucky he didn't have to pay for it in blood and body tissue.