• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Worcester LTC

I live in Worcester and I'm applying this week for my LTC. I've read many threads stating how difficult Chief Gemme is. I already took my safety course, I have two photos and I have two letters of recommendation from cops. I am applying for a Class A unrestricted. My question is, what should I put for a reason? Should I write that I'm a paramedic working off shift hours, transporting medical equipment (i.e. syringes) in high crime areas. Or should I just put ALP and explain why in my interview if I'm asked? Thanks.

Last edited:
Should I write that I'm a paramedic in Boston working off shift hours, transporting medical equipment (i.e. syringes) in high crime areas.
I believe paramedics in Boston are prohibited from being armed on the job as a condition of employment. Just consider what your response will be when Gemme asks for a letter from your employer stating you are authorized to be armed on the job.

You should put "for all lawfull purposes" and nothing else. Regardless he will still put range and hunting only restrictions on your LTC at least until you renew in six years

I believe paramedics in Boston are prohibited from being armed on the job as a condition of employment. Just consider what your response will be when Gemme asks for a letter from your employer stating you are authorized to be armed on the job.

Of course we can't carry on the job. I would only carry to and from work

You should put "for all lawfull purposes" and nothing else. Regardless he will still put range and hunting only restrictions on your LTC at least until you renew in six years

he odes issue "Restrictions: Personal Protection" once in a while.

The fact that Gemme wants to make laws about knives makes me think you are better moving out of Worcester and THEn applying for your LTC (unless that is out of the question)