• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Winchester 70 Sniper- Legit?

Mountain

NES Member
Edit- removed for forum rules

Of course no way in hell I'm interested at that price, but I wonder if even legit. Not picking on the seller, but the barrel looks a little new. Opinions?

Last edited:
I'm no expert but if that's a legitimate USMC rifle I'd say it's one of the Vietnam ones from Jim Land's sniper program which included Carlos Hathcock who I think used one. I remember reading about them in Marine Sniper. He wrote WWII in the description but that's obviously a mistake. He says he has documentation so maybe it's legitimate.

Last edited:
That would be cool if legit. I wonder if Winchester medium heavy contour barrels in .30-06 are very common?

edit- Looking into this a little more, such rifles from U.S. Van Orden/Evaluators Ltd. are supposedly well documented.

Last edited:
That would be cool if legit. I wonder if Winchester medium heavy contour barrels in .30-06 are very common?

I can't say but if I remember right from the book, they were buying the rifles in base PX's and shipping them over. I wish I still had the book so I could check. I'm sure some of the experts here know.

So I found Marine Sniper available online for free and found this excerpt:

"Hathcock fastened the long Unertl scope back on his sniper rifle — a matchconditioned,.30-06 Springfield caliber, Model-70 Winchester anchored atthe receiver with precisely torqued screws that held it in a glass-bedded,Monte Carlo-style stock, above which the finely tuned barrel floated"

I haven't found anything about where they bought them yet but that might be mentioned in One Shot One Kill not Marine Sniper.

Here's the free version:

http://www.sniperselite.com.ar/manuales/Historicos/Marine Sniper.pdf

Last edited:
Roger- removed.