Who's that guy on your squad?

allen-1

NES Member
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
I shot an IDPA match Saturday at one of my "other clubs". Not my local club, but one I shoot at about once a month (their IDPA matches). I've been shooting matches there for about three years and there's overlap between that club and mine - so I know a bunch of the shooters and all of the SO's.

There were probably forty-five competitors there, and maybe a dozen spectators (wives, girlfriends and the occasional kid). I probably knew about 30 of them from shooting with them, and a couple others were easy to categorize. For example I had three active service members on my squad, one of whom had just returned home from a tour, another who was attached to the Ranger battalion here.

I was reloading my mags after a stage, and BSing with Jim, (another SO I know), when all of a sudden he says "What's that a**h*** doing here?". Huh? I look at him, and ask "who? why?". Jim's a bit older than I am, and he's not diplomatic - but he's really straight forward - you know where you stand with him.

He tells me that the guy he's looking at hasn't been there in a couple of years, and is on the national terror list. I just kind of blink - and ask "how do you know that?". He then tells me that he and two other SO's I know were all interviewed by the FBI about this guy. Apparently he did a lot of social media posting about it being a good thing to shoot cops, and belonged to a couple of groups who advocate and engage in violence. Per Jim, the FBI also told him that this guy had spent a year in Libya and attracted the attention of the State Department.

Jim went on to tell me that the SO's of that club held a meeting after the three SO's were interviewed about this guy - and then went to the board - who issued a quiet declaration that SO's could stay hot on our normally cold range - in case something really went sideways.