• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

where to get target stands

I recently joined Harvard and would like to use their IDPA ranges. However, I don't know where to get or what to use for target stands?
Do people bring their own or improvise?

Thanks!

You can make your own out of an 8 foot 2x4 for about $2. The only downside is that it won't be collapsible. I have been using this form of stand for many years with no complaints. They can even be modified to support steel plates.

You can make your own out of an 8 foot 2x4 for about $2. The only downside is that it won't be collapsible. I have been using this form of stand for many years with no complaints. They can even be modified to support steel plates.

It can be if you use 3/8" carriage bolts and wing nuts, and if you can'
t find the bolts long enough then use threaded rod.

I am actually getting ready to make my own. Probably going to weld the 1st one up tonight. Here is a CAD snapshot.

ActionTargetStand.jpg

I basically copied a standard target stand.
I added the 2x4 tubing in the middle so I can support the steel plates that I have. They mount on the end of a standard 2x4 piece of lumber.
I will post pictures of the finished unit.

Steve

Nice steve, I want to put together one like that. Scrounging for old beat up pieces of wood and propping them up at the range is getting old... especially when snow is on the ground. I'm curious, how are you attaching steel to that exactly? I'd like to get plates I can use up to .308 but I don't want to get some expensive store bought one really...

It can be if you use 3/8" carriage bolts and wing nuts, and if you can'
t find the bolts long enough then use threaded rod.