• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Where to demo firearms before purchase...?

I live in Quincy MA and will be purchasing my first handgun before the end of the summer.

I have been shooting rifles/shotguns for many years, but never got into handguns. I can't wait. However, it still stands that I'm a total newbie.

I've read many thread on various boards about pistols (I'm in the market for an auto-loader, no revolvers) and have formed opinions based on other peoples experiences as an aggregate. However, I want to form my own opinions and purchase the gun that's right for me.

So, my question is, where can I demo guns in MA that won't break the bank (like 25 bucks an hour for a lane + 10 bucks for gun + 15 bucks for ammo etc multiplied by 5 guns I demo)

BTW, I'm a member of a gun club that I can shoot at for free at any time.

Thanks for any input that you guys have to offer to a newbie!

Further away but I hear they have a great selection is the "Firing Line" Manchester , NH

I could be wrong, but I would assume any gun shop that also has an indoor range should have a few different makes the prospective buyer can try out.

Bob's Tactical on Rte. 1 in Salisnury, MA. Rental is $10 an hour for the lane, and renting a gun is $10 an hour (in addition), plus ammo and targets. You don't need to have a license to shoot there as you shoot on their license. You only need to be 21 or older, or, if under, with someone over the age of 21.

IIRC - their address is 90 Lafayette Rd in Salisbury (you can get directions from Mapquest or some such.

A number of folks from Boston come up there to shoot.

I haven't been in American Firearms in North Attleboro in several months. And I've heard that there were some changes, but I don't know what they are. But I know that they used to rent firearms. So that would be something to look into as well.