Where to buy?

I am new to the whole firearms thing still waiting for my FID to come in. But was wondering where the best place to buy was a local shop or major retailor like dicks or basspro, etc. All i am looking for is a rem 870 and some sort of .22, im all about supporting local business but have heard that the major retailors are cheaper and at the moment would like to find cheapest deal out there.

BPS is horrible on handguns. Just about msrp

Rifles and shotguns prices are generally good

Go to collectors in stoneham. There loft is great if you want to check out tons of shotguns and some rifles

Local gunshops, kittery trading post, and ask family members because I found out my grandfather has a .22 and he's giving it to me for free. But yeah Four Seasons has decent prices on 870's.

[grin]

Bob's Webster, Ma
First Defense Uxbridge, Ma
IDC Clinton, Ma
FS Woburn, Ma
Blue Northern Trading Ayer, Ma
There is also a gun show coming up on March 3rd and 4th in Wilmington, Ma

I would go to any of the above before I bought a gun at Bass Pro.

From Dartmouth, I'd recommend you check out Village sports in Westport, C&F guns in Middleboro OR even Acme Armament in Plympton. [wink]

These three places would be great for the beginner (and the pro) because they are smaller shops that wont rush you out just to make the sale.

I'll keep some negative comments about a certain shop in Fall River to myself for now. What I will say is if you do venture to Fall River's only shop, be careful and go in knowing what your looking for. [wink]

I work at a police station and when I was looking for my first gun all the boys told me to go to NorthEast Trading in North Attleboro.

In the town I live in (Easton) there is a little gun shop called Zero Hour Arms

I haven't been to Northeast Trading, but I heard their prices are quite good and have a good selection. I will be going there to get my next gun. [smile]