• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Where are the rifle guys

So I have been looking into trying something different than handguns at the range. I am new to rifles and would like to get into shooting longer ranges seeing that I have a restricted class A I figured get some more use out of my license. I wanted to ask you guys for advice before asking someone who "knows" what they are talking about. I am on a budget so not looking to spend crazy money to get started, I have been looking into the m&p 15 sport rifle at four seasons in Woburn brand new they have them advertised for $599. So I am opened to any suggestions from you experienced rifle guys, thank you in advance.

What Range will you be shooting at ? I shoot mostly bolt action rifle, off a bench. My son shoots 5.56 and seems to enjoy the AR platform rifle. actually I also enjoy shooting 22LR at long range. the biggest challenge with the 22LR is the wind. also my larger rifles have heavy recoil so the smaller caliber is a joy to shoot. If it were me I would try to get a 5.56 chamber that way you will be able to shoot surplus ammo in 5.56 also 223. Remember you can shoot 223 in a 5.56 but you cannot shoot 5.56 in a 223 chamber. the AR style rifle has light recoil, but does have a good bark.

The range I'm a member at has three types of ranges your typical handgun which I believe is 10 and 20 yards, then a rifle/shotgun which is 100 an 200 yards I believe and the last one is long range up to 500 yards. I figured I would start with the ar 5.56 then eventually get a scope and a few upgrades to go longer range but like I said I'm new to rifles so not sure if there would be a more practical way to start besides a .22LR

Second for Appleseed. Forget the riflescope.. Shooting iron sights will serve you well for distances beyond what the vast majority of New England ranges can support.