• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

What type of shotgun is ideal for Trap shooting?

I have a Mossy 500 Persuader Tactical model with 6 pos stock. I am assuming that this type of 12g is not "ideal" for trap shooting, so my question is, what is? What model shot guns are ideal for trap shooting? I am new to trap so I don't want anything super expensive, but something that will work well.

Thanks

The answer is basically "whatever works." I've seen people with single barrel box locks, bolt action 12 gauges, 5 shot auto loaders, etc. who shot dead nuts. If you want pure function and ease, go with a nice auto loading (I suggest a browning A-5) 20ga or 16ga. 20ga. or 16ga. will help your shoulder. I'm a purist, so british doubles are my go to trap guns.

A shotgun that is "built for trap" will typically have a 30" to 34" barrel, a high post target rib with mid bead, removable chokes, and either a Monte Carlo stock, or one with an adjustable comb.

I do agree, you can break birds with just about anything, but a dedicated trap gun will break more birds for you.

I shoot Trap with either a Beretta 391 target, or a Browning BT-99. Both are great Trap guns.

for the most part a "trap gun" will shoot higher than POA. Trap shooting is targets always going away and on the rise. So ideally you want some type of vertical lead ie. Higher comb/rear sight. Bring what you have and give it a try. modified choke is good.

Barrel length is not important only in balance and swing feel. sight radius means nothing. You do not aim a trap gun.

Last edited:
Just go get a 24-28", 2 bead, vented rib barell for your 500. There's usually at least a few of those used kicking around in every gun shop I've ever been in for $50-$100. That way if you try it and don't like it, you're not out much money (I don't think that should be a problem though).