What to do with abandoned ammo?

Left the Communistwealth for Live Free or Die!
One of our customers abandoned thier belongings in a storage unit and customarily we auction off belongings to cover back rent. However, my employee, who handles the auctions, found about 300 rounds of various calibers of ammo and brought them to me to see if I wanted them.

I'm no expert on ammo, but these were loose in sandwich bags and looked like reloads so I was very skeptical to use them and told him to take the ammo to the police station and see if they could dispose of them (which they did willingly). Would any of you had done anything else differently or are interested if I come across ammo again like this?

Pop the heads off. Keep the brass for scrap metal. Reuse the heads or melt them down if they're lead. Burn the powder for fun. That is what I would have done.

Last thing I would do by the way, is tell someone who doesn't have a license in MA, to bring ammo to a police station. That is illegal. Just incase you did this.

And, I'd absolutely never give the police anything to destroy, that I can legally own and put to other use.

Last edited:
Pop the heads off. Keep the brass for scrap metal. Reuse the heads or melt them down if they're lead. Burn the powder for fun. That is what I would have done.

Last thing I would do by the way, is tell someone who doesn't have a license in MA, to bring ammo to a police station. That is illegal. Just incase you did this.

And, I'd absolutely never give the police anything to destroy, that I can legally own and put to other use.

The employee is licensed as am I. Not being familiar with loading/unloading a cartridge, I was fearful of earning a Darwin award.

The employee is licensed as am I. Not being familiar with loading/unloading a cartridge, I was fearful of earning a Darwin award.