• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

What do you reccomend for my 1911?

Ok well the newest addition to my firearms is a S&W 1911ES that is intended for carry purposes down the line. I have a beltman belt and Milt Sparks VMII for that setup... Anyways, there are a couple things I want to improve on it...

First off the trigger that rattles really does bother me. Anyone have a suggestion on what to look for on a trigger?

Secondly I would like some sights that catch my eye a little better than the white dots, what do you think?

Lastly I am having some FTF issues on the stock magazines on the last round, this seems to be not out of the ordinary. I want to get some Wilson Combat magazines, preferably the ETM ones, but their site doesn't do to well on stating which of the ETM series will fit my bun properly with the officers frame.

I am new to looking at and buying individual parts for the 1911 and still learning a lot so all help is appreciated.

One last question... the 1911ES doesn't have a horrible trigger pull, and I don't want it to light since it will be for carry, but are there any other benefits to a trigger job on a gun like this?

Thanks,
BE4TNUT

P.S. What do you guys think about Crimson Trace grips on the 1911 for carry?

Last edited:
First off the trigger that rattles really does bother me. Anyone have a suggestion on what to look for on a trigger?
A gunsmith. He'll either fix that one or (more likely) replace it and properly fit the new one. 1911 triggers are not drop-in parts. They are typically oversize from the factory and must be carefully filed to fit.

Secondly I would like some sights that catch my eye a little better than the white dots, what do you think?
I like Heinie Slant Pro, specifically the rear ledge black, front sight with a tritium insert. 10-8 Performance also has a nice looking sight.