• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

What about speeding up??

Ok...
I just got back from the range. If I put my mind to it, focus on my breathing, sight alignment, stance, pressing the trigger without anticipating recoil I will get something that looks like this.

target.jpg

I'm no expert by any means, but I think this is a fairly respectable group. If not please set me straight...

Now, How what do I need to do to get this done a little faster?

Adam

Adam
There are two points to make here. First, that is a very good group. What distance were you shooting? Since the group is a little high, you may want to lower the rear sight a bit. How much, if any, will depend on the distance to the target. To explain this, any handgun will only hit exactly at two distances. For example, on my Colt Commander, the first zero is at about 4.5 yards (from 0 to 4.5 yards the bullet will be low and rising) and the final zero is at 25 yards. Between 4.5 yards and 25 yards the bullet rises, reaches the top of the trajectory and begins to fall. The distances that I have mentioned above will not be the same for any other gun and ammo combination. I may be wrong, but I think that your P99 is factory sighted in at 25 yards so you results will be similar.
If you want to determine the exact ballistics of you round send me a PM and I will give you the info that I will need to do the calculations.

It is a good idea fire your gun from 18" and out until you find the first zero point and then continue all the way to 25 yards to find the second (the real one) zero. If you ever had to take a precision shot (a hostage situation for example) at, say, 15 yards it would be good to know where the bullet will strike. Sadly, very few people bother to find out where the gun shoots and simply adjust the sights for some fixed distance that they most often shoot.