• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Walther PPS impressions and problem

Hi,

After I got my LTC here in Ma last week I went out and bought the gun I was waiting for. A Walther PPS 9mm. I am new to handguns. Had a Ruger 22 many years ago but did not shoot it very much. Took the required course which I enjoyed very much and got a lot out of it.

I did spend some time at a pay range a while ago trying out several 9mm pistols, about 150 rounds worth. So basically I have little to compare it to.

So I go to the outdoor range here in Barnstable yesterday with new Walther in tow. Put 100 rounds down range.

I really liked the gun, felt better with the large backsrap. Did not find the MA. trigger that bad, at least for now.

The big issue was that I have SEVERAL "fail to load" (not sure if that is the correct term) using both Focchi (sp) and Blazer 115 gr shells.
All ejected OK, many hitting my head, but on several occasions it would not chamber the next round. Tried to push it slightly but slide would not move. Had to remove the clip and push the top shell back fully in the clip and it worked OK then.

I did not clean the gun before I shot it but did tear it down and it looked very clean with a slight amount of oil.
I did notice that the ramp that the bullet rides up on has a fairly noticable horizontal scratch/gouge that might be causing the hang ups.

Any thoiughts will be greatly appreciated as this really bothers me as to the reliability of the weapon.

Tom

My PPS in 40 and it has performed flawless My brother and my neighbor have one in 9mm and no ftf or fte at all. That gouge my be the issue. I have been running federal, Winchester and corbon ammo thru it without issue Try a different ammo now that you cleaned it and see what happens. If it continues I would contact walther.

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?jv0vck