Visiting Mass with "evil" guns.

Not sure if this has been asked before, and if it has I'll no doubt get flamed by Scrivener. [wink]

I'm thinking of (at some point) getting an AR, or some other "evil looking" rifle. Now, as an NH resident I can pretty much please myself as to what I buy.

However, what are the laws on bringing those types of weapon into Mass as a visitor to go to an event (for example, to go to a NES shoot)? I know you can't bring any hi-cap magazines in, but what about non-compliant guns on the Mass "AWB"?

Nope, sorry. No post-ban "Assault Weapons" allowed in MA, period (Except for LE/Dealer/Miltary). Bringing one in, even for a competition, is a no no.

Also be careful what you bring in if you don't have a MA non-resident LTC. No large capacity weapons allowed at all without that.

Yeah - thanks, I know. I honestly don't know how you guys can live with all the laws in that state. [crying]

(I know, we've visited that question before, so you don't need to give me an answer).

A gun owner doesn't really "live" in MA so much as "get by". [crying]

Preban rifles and magazines at least soothe the pain a little bit.

-Mike

So if I get a pre-ban AR lower, can I put any post-ban upper on it (with added flash-hider, bayo-lug, etc), or must the whole AR be pre-ban with no added "evil features"?

If it's preban, you can put any of the evil features on it. The upper receiver may be in any otherwise legal configuration.

If it's preban, you can put any of the evil features on it. The upper receiver may be in any otherwise legal configuration.

Just so I'm clear, do you mean that an AR upper on a pre-ban lower may be a post-ban upper with other than a Class III configuration? That is, a pre-ban lower can have mounted on it a post-ban upper with flash-hider & bayo-lug but can't be short-barrel or have a silencer - right? And this for a Non-res LTC-A (ALP) holder bringing said rifle into MA/Boston?