Virtual Firearms instruction in MA, just got and email from MSP

rep308

NES Member
I am a licensed Firearm Instructor in MA and just received this email:

BFS virtual training has been approved. If you wish to instruct virtually you will need to send an email to me requesting to be approved to provide virtual BFS training. In your email you must include your name, address, contact number, email address, your BFS Certification number and the course you wish to instruct.

Once we receive your email we will review your request and if approved we will send you additional information on what steps you will need to take, especially at the beginning of every class you instruct.

At no time should you be instructing virtually without approval from Colonel Mason or his designee.

Please be advised that the Colonel's authorization for the online Basic Firearm Safety Program expires when the state of emergency in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts has been lifted.

Be safe and stay healthy,

Kristin M. Ryan
Firearms Licensing
Massachusetts State Police
470 Worcester Road
Framingham, MA 01702
508-820-2299
[email protected]

I have been teaching NRA basic pistol for certification. How does one teach NRA basic pistol virtually, doesn't it require a live fire segment?

Any information would be appreciated

The NRA doesn't seem to think so, since they offer it as an online course.
NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting
The NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting course is the best way for you to learn the basics of pistol shooting from the top firearms training organization in the world! The course is the first steps for you to obtain the proper certification for your concealed carry permit in some states. Be sure to contact your county, city or state to find out whether this course fulfills the requirement.