• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Vietnam

Our company was co-located with the 93 Evacuation Hospital (Long Binh III Corps north of Saigon). As a Dustoff pilot I got to see what these nurses went through on a daily basis and believe me, I don't know how their lives after Vietnam could resemble anything approaching normal. These young ladies were absolutely exceptional. God bless them all.

Our company was co-located with the 93 Evacuation Hospital (Long Binh III Corps north of Saigon). As a Dustoff pilot I got to see what these nurses went through on a daily basis and believe me, I don't know how their lives after Vietnam could resemble anything approaching normal. These young ladies were absolutely exceptional. God bless them all.
DO22....10-4 BROTHER

I lost two close friends in Nam, both during the Tet Offensive. I was quite a bit younger then they were but I still can't watch some movies and documentaries about Nam even after all these years. One of the friends was an assistant scout master in the troop I was in that was drafted in the Corps. The other was drafted into the Army, he was one of my best friends older brother and we spent a lot of time together.

Both were 19 years old when they were KIA.

Last edited:
I understand Timbo, I have yet to build up the resolve to visit a moving Wall, let alone the original.

A lot of my little league team resides there.
I went to the moving wall once when I lived in NH. We lived right next door to the NH State Veteran's Cemetery so it was a quick several minute walk to go see it.. When I saw the names of my friends, I just fell apart, cried like a baby and the memories came rushing back like it was yesterday.

P.S. I wasn't the only one crying.

In the evening, they played taps and I when I heard it, I involuntarily snapped to attention and my eyes would get misty.

Will watch.