• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Vehicle stop. Courtesy? Yes? No? Hell no?

I've read a lot of threads with posts concerning what you should do if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer in Massachusetts and you either have a weapon in your vehicle or on your person. It seems like many (if not most) reply NOT to offer that information freely, do NOT tell the LEO this tidbit of information unless he or she specifically asks you if there is a weapon in the vehicle and of course, do not lie.

Born and raised here, I've been driving for about 45 years. I've never received so much as a parking ticket. It's not that I've never been caught, I was just raised to obey the law, so yes, I am one of those M*******s you beep at, yell at and give the finger to because I won't go much over the speed limit as you want me to. I come to a complete stop at stop signs and red lights, etc. I was pulled over once in my life, about 2 a.m. in the center of Framingham back in '80 or '81. Two cruisers from opposite directions, guns drawn, my vehicle just happened to match one that was involved in a robbery. It wasn't me, I was heading home from work at General Motors.

I know that we are not required to tell any officer that there is a weapon in our vehicle, but I would really like to know why you would not? In my mind I would be providing the officer a courtesy to inform him that I have a weapon on me. My hands would be at 10 and 2, the interior lights on if necessary and then ask him how he would like me to proceed. For those who would NOT tell the officer, is it because it really is not the right thing to do? Is it because it can only present you with a problematic situation? Is it true that officers would not treat you well (as some have said)? Am I asking for trouble if I do?