• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

VA Appeal help!

I am a veteran of Afghanistan that was nearly killed in an firefight in country years back and I am currently getting jacked around by the VA, the army rated me at 90% then the VA came back with 10%, which I fought and got raised to 40% now. I broke my back and neck, and ended up getting cancer from exposure to DU in country, and the burn pits in the Camp Chapman area, I need some kind of help starting another appeal because I am just tired to be honest and I need help. Years of physical pain and now stage 4B cancer have just worn me out, and I can't deal with the VA by myself now. Anyone out there able to help me out at all???

Contact your local DAV office or if you are near a VA hospital, they usually have a DAV rep there to help out. Or you can contact a regional DAV office. I've worked with the one in Providence and the DAV rep in the Brockton V Hospital.

Good luck.

Last edited:
Call the VetCenter in Worcester. Make an appointment with them. They will help you fill out your paperwork and help track things. Also, Join the DAV. They will do the same and help push through. Good luck and don't stop fighting....that's what they want you to do- give up. Don't.

Last edited:
Call Peggy Mathews 978-877-3974. She was great to work with and knew how to handle the VA. Her website is veteransadvocacyservices.org. I started 2 claims this past August, and both are already done. She is a little scatter brained, but knows her stuff.

Veterans Outreach Center - Metrowest
255 Main Street, Suite 213
Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone (508)460-9993