• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

USPSA info??

I just started shooting IDPA this past year, and was looking at USPSA. I have been told by a few different people that USPSA is more competitive, and if I am not that good, will feel uncomfortable, because i will be holding up the rest of the shooters. Is there any truth to this? I am curious, because i don't want to jump into something over my head. Also, can you use stock pistols, or do you need to have a super expensive custom gun?? Thanks

I just started shooting IDPA this past year, and was looking at USPSA. I have been told by a few different people that USPSA is more competitive, and if I am not that good, will feel uncomfortable, because i will be holding up the rest of the shooters. Is there any truth to this? I am curious, because i don't want to jump into something over my head. Also, can you use stock pistols, or do you need to have a super expensive custom gun?? Thanks

Local USPSA matches are full of shooters of all skill levels so there is no way that you will be holding any of them up. If ANYONE at a match makes you feel that way they deserve to get smacked in the head and asked to never return to a match (at least that is what I would do at my club).

You most certainly can shoot stock pistols as there is a division (Production) just for off the shelf guns.

Go check out a match, I think you will be very pleasantly surprised.

I just started shooting IDPA this past year, and was looking at USPSA. I have been told by a few different people that USPSA is more competitive, and if I am not that good, will feel uncomfortable, because i will be holding up the rest of the shooters. Is there any truth to this?