Update: 1863 US Bridesburg - Restoration Underway, Pics

Have to admit, I have very little knowledge of black powder firearms. But I knew enough to pick this one up for $160 OTD.

It's an 1863 US Bridesburg .58 cal Civil War musket, subcontracted by Bridesburg Machine Works, owner Alfred Jenks & Son of Pennsylvania, for the Springfield Armory. It is built on the same specs as the 1861 Springfield, with a few minor changes such as the barrel band springs.

This one isn't going to be operational any time soon. The hammer retaining bolt is broken, rear sight is missing, and ramrod is absent. The nipple is quite deteriorated, middle sling swivel is gone, has a pinned stock repair behind the hammer, and spiders made a home in the bore (may have had rifling removed?). But it does still set in both half and full cock positions.

Markings are VP over eagle head on the left rear barrel. The 1863 stamp on top of the barrel is all but pitted away. U stamps on the barrel bands, and US marked buttplate are legible. And the lockplate is still fairly crisp, with 1863, Eagle Stamp, and US Bridesburg present. The stock cartouches seem to be sanded away, but overall, the wood is quite nice.

Anyway, I've rambled on enough. Pics next, and thanks for looking.

USBridesburg_001.jpg

USBridesburg_002.jpg

USBridesburg_003.jpg

USBridesburg_004.jpg

USBridesburg_006.jpg

USBridesburg_007.jpg

USBridesburg_008.jpg

USBridesburg_009.jpg

USBridesburg_010.jpg

USBridesburg_011.jpg

USBridesburg_012.jpg

USBridesburg_014.jpg

USBridesburg_015.jpg

USBridesburg_016.jpg

USBridesburg_017.jpg

USBridesburg_018.jpg

USBridesburg_019.jpg

USBridesburg_020.jpg

USBridesburg_021.jpg

USBridesburg_022.jpg

USBridesburg1_001.jpg

USBridesburg1_002.jpg

USBridesburg_002.jpg

USBridesburg_001.jpg

Last edited:
I have a similar Bridesburg I bought from Reid's a few years back. Very similar in condition to yours.