• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ultrasonic GUN Cleaning - A Simple Cleaning Solution

So, I've been using my Ultrasonic Cleaner for a few months to clean my brass for reloading; but didn't really think about using it for cleaning my handguns, until yesterday.

I did some research online and found that there were very few articles on cleaning firearms with Ultrasonic without using expensive and hard to find toxic chemicals. Even the "homebrew" stuff (Ed's Red) seems a little more than required when cleaning a normal firearm in an Ultrasonic cleaner.

So I decided to write my own little article about my experience cleaning a recently acquired (used) P239 with stuff I had around the house.

I wrote it today while at work, so its not by an means a final draft, but I wanted to share with NES before linking it to Google or some other forum.
It's a work in progress, so please feel free to comment and make suggestions.

Ultrasonic GUN Cleaning - A Simple Cleaning Solution

Nice article! +1 for you. I've been considering the possibility of using this method for several non-firearm items I have, and thinking I should buy a unit large enough to hold a full-sized pistol or something even larger.

Couple of things to note...

When you're using ultrasonic cleaners w/ flammable fluids, KEEP THEM EXTREMELY WELL VENTILATED, and away from ALL ignition sources. Seriously. Ideally, don't even do it inside.