Turkey Hunting - Red Dot or Scope

For all of you turkey hunters out there, do any of you use a scope?

I'm contemplating adding either a red dot (zero magnification), or a 1.5 or possibly 4 power scope that can double as a deer scope in the fall.

Anyone have any thoughts, experiences, or sage guidance using either of these for shotgun hunting?

I'm no expert but I use a camo finish Mossberg 535 for turkey & deer with a receiver mounted Tru-Glo 2X Red Dot.

I bought this one from Cabela's last year;
i712366sn02.jpg

They're not shown on the pic but it comes with amber flip-up end caps.
I just sight it in for the loads I'll be hunting with.

Field of view is adequate the tube is bright enough for post-dawn shots, and the brightness of the dot is variable.

Now if I could actually call the birds in I could say I've been successful using this set up. [thinking]

Last edited:
Looks great! Thanks.

How's the field of view on it?

I read reviews on Cabelas and the ranged from "perfect" to "hate it" most of the "hate it" comments seemed to be focused on the FOV.

Looks great! Thanks.

How's the field of view on it?

I read reviews on Cabelas and the ranged from "perfect" to "hate it" most of the "hate it" comments seemed to be focused on the FOV.

Field of view seems ok for me, never bothered to measure / estimate it though.

Specs:

2.5 M.O.A. Red Dot
11 adjustable brightness settings
2X magnification; 27' F. O. V @ 100 yds.
Waterproof / fogproof
Shock-resistant up to .50 cal. muzzleloader
Unlimited eye relief
Uses common CR2032 lithium battery (included)
39 mm tube is 5 1/3" long, weighs 8 3/4 ozs.

Hope this helps. [grin]

RED Dot

I bought a RED Dot to go on my sons new Mossberg 20 ga pump.

However the mounting bracket that I bought seperate does not fit the contour of the mossberg 20ga reciever . It is pre drilled and tapped.

They sell a really sloppy looking large mounting bracket to fit shotguns.