Tumbling Media

Hey guys, I am new to NES. I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions on a reloading media to help me with some really dirty brass. I have a PTR 91 and becuase of the flutes in the chamber, the outside of the brass gets really really dirty from blowback. The regular walnut media with polish from RCBS that I use for everything else just doesnt do the trick. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

I use walnut with Flitz. Comes out great, even the crap I dig up at the range. How long are you running them? I leave mine running in the shed usually for a full overnight. I've run a few really nasty batches for a full day and they came back quite shiny.

- - - Updated - - -

Also, is it an RCBS tumbler? That's what I'm using.

If you want ludicrous clean nothing beats switching to stainless steel media. Is there any particular reason you're worried about how it looks, or you just picky [wink]

Last edited:
I use the walnut polishing media sold at places like Bass Pro. Its red in color. I also use the finer green for brass that may be stained. I add a small amount of braso to the media and they come out looking like they were hand polished.

I tumble in stainless as well. The thing about it is you are going to have to make a dry box. Chicken wire, standard 60w light bulb, and a pc case fan in a ammo can works well.

I use walnut with Flitz. Comes out great, even the crap I dig up at the range. How long are you running them? I leave mine running in the shed usually for a full overnight. I've run a few really nasty batches for a full day and they came back quite shiny.

- - - Updated - - -

Also, is it an RCBS tumbler? That's what I'm using.

If you want ludicrous clean nothing beats switching to stainless steel media. Is there any particular reason you're worried about how it looks, or you just picky [wink]