• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

TSA, international flight, and GSR on clothing and belt

In October I'm flying international out of Logan and I'm wondering how much of a pain the TSA kabuki theater can be if I have GSR on my clothing.

I wear a Wilderness Instructor belt pretty much full time and it is the belt I wear when I carry. Needless to say, it makes every range trip I do. Same with my sneakers and ball caps.

How much of a pain will TSA be if I have GSR on my clothes? Also, what advice do you guys have for flying with NRA magazines or gun related books. Can any of these make me a "prohibited person" in terms of flying? Please note I'm a Vet, Conservative, and a gun owner. I'm on plenty of lists and databases for all of these.

Thanks in advance!

I did not have a problem with TSA wearing my hat/belt/shoes that I wear to the range. I think you might be over thinking this one

Most TSA agents can't find their own noses. I'm actually about to head out to the airport right now and I too most likely have GSR on my clothes. Not worried at all.

I have often caught an afternoon/evening flight after a couple of hours on the range that morning and have never had an issue - even when I am swabbed looking for explosive residue

I have had a swab show positive for explosives, but this was an evening flight after a morning and afternoon involving 8 cases of Tannerite.

I explained what I had been doing, showed pictures on my phone, talked to the Colorado State Police and Airport Police, showed pictures and video again, they laughed, asked where we were, and why they did not get an invite! TSA guy was doing the open-mouthed goldfish when the police said I was good to go without so much as a patdown.

In October I'm flying international out of Logan and I'm wondering how much of a pain the TSA kabuki theater can be if I have GSR on my clothing.