• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Training options for total n00b

jar

I've been a long time 2A supporter, and it's always felt slightly hypocritical that I have no personal shooting experience. I did a little bit of air rifle target shooting in the cub scouts many years ago, but that's it. I'm looking for a class geared to total beginners like myself.

In researching my options, I haven't found good info on exactly what the different courses include. I'll describe what I think my ideal course would be, and people can let me know how the various offerings fit into that.

I think my ideal course would be a full day on a Saturday or Sunday. The morning would consist of classroom instruction on safety, legal issues, and basic pistol techniques. Afternoon would consist of range time learning and practicing the basics. I'd like most of this to be done on 22s, and then some time to try out a few different common handgun types. Say a 38/357 revolver, an M&P, and a 1911.

Do any of the courses fit this description? I see that Westford Sportsmens club offers a class through Roudenbush. The description sounds like it exactly meets my expectations on the classroom portion, but it's unclear if range time is included also.

I'm writing this assuming you don't have an FID/LTC yet.