Training aids with accurate-feeling action?

In having seen a handful of beginner classes, and having witnessed a couple dozen beginners' first shorts (and, being I'm now a new trainer), I was thinking that a training aid with an accurate action feel would be a good thing. e.g. a double-action, a single action, and a striker fire.

Does such a thing exist?
(At, obviously, a reasonable price - I 100% don't get why blue guns are like $50)

It seems like the sort of thing one might be able to 3d print, to which one adds a couple of springs: make it not look like a gun at all except the grip and trigger and maybe some feature that gives a sight picture. Any thoughts?

(Hum, found this: NEW BLUE-Trigger Trainer)

Last edited:
Make your own.
Ceracoat a slide and barrel Blue, cut down the firing pin so it's far short of protruding, weld the pin hole in the bolt closed, also weld the barrel. Now it's 100% not able to fire and retains all the parts for a "real" feel.

In having seen a handful of beginner classes, and having witnessed a couple dozen beginners' first shorts (and, being I'm now a new trainer), I was thinking that a training aid with an accurate action feel would be a good thing. e.g. a double-action, a single action, and a striker fire.

Does such a thing exist?
(At, obviously, a reasonable price - I 100% don't get why blue guns are like $50)

It seems like the sort of thing one might be able to 3d print, to which one adds a couple of springs: make it not look like a gun at all except the grip and trigger and maybe some feature that gives a sight picture. Any thoughts?

(Hum, found this: NEW BLUE-Trigger Trainer)

Why not get an airsoft gun? I love mine for teaching others basics, and for my own training.

I believe that incorporating dummy rounds into live fire to remove flinch reflex has more value than worrying about realistic triggers though.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not sure what problem you are trying to solve, and I say this as an instructor.