• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Too late to become a LEO

Hi all my name is Shawn I am 38 years old have a wife and 1 child. I have one regret in my life and thats not joining the military I was very close my senior year of high school . I had a recruiter that I was friends with all through that year close to graduation it got I showed the slightest bit of doubt and he toatly changed became an ass. Turned me off completely. I regret it to this day alot of my friend went on to join and become officers in the north east and some arw just retired from the service.Anyway I was wondering what was considered too old to think about a career in law enforcement.

I’m a firemen not a cop but when I was 24 I went to the academy with a 52 year old guy. He did just fine. Go for it!

If you do you will be working nights and every holiday something that can impact family life for sure
I work most holidays now. I work at a marina and people want their boats on holidays. What shift I work wouldnt concern me. I think that the job would be interesting to me and mabey I could do some good in my community.

I’m a firemen not a cop but when I was 24 I went to the academy with a 52 year old guy. He did just fine. Go for it!
I am really considering it . I have just been thinking latley how I just work some bs job same old thing every day . When Im older id like to be able to loom back and say I made a diffrence or at least tried. I am going to look into what I need to qualify for becoming an LEO. As I am not sure if I need college crimanal justice courses or what have you. But I am really interested in starting a career instead of just working some job just to pay the bills. Id like to enjoy going to work and I really think I would enjoy it. My uncle was a LEO in coventy R.I. he loved his job.