• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

To hell with hand guards!

84ta406

NES Member
Sort of a rant, dont be too hard on me!

Building my first and only AR and I've been piecing together everything slowly. Managed to jump in a bunch of group buys on here and save a bunch but Im coming down the home stretch, only need a BCG and a Handguard now, but holy shit! I never would have thought some of these things cost so much.. for what? Aside from the cheap magpul furniture, the prices are ridiculous! Do you guys really pay 100+? 150-200+? Ive seen the GB on here and even still the length I need is like 140, for something for my hand to go on? I have no intentions to tacticool my rifle, and aside from sights or a scope I'm not adding anything to it. What is the point of paying so much for this stuff? I understand better quality etc. as I work in manufacturing but holy shit the mark ups have to be absurd!

In any case.. if anyone has a good source for Rifle length 12" or 13.2" handguards.. that would be great!

I don't know what it costs to engineer, fabricate, market, sell etc. handguards, but I assume it can't be too cheap. Clearly some are made better, stronger and lighter than others which increases cost. Most of mine are from YHM. Not the most expensive, nor are they the lightest or strongest on the market. However, I choose them because they are a solid, no nonsense, no frills handguard you can count on.

Thank being said, I think I have set of plastic rifle length handguards lying around somewhere. If I can find them I will give them to you.

Dave

I was leaning towards the magpuls but was hoping for something a little more aesthetically pleasing for me. Will probably end up that way.

I looked on amazon and was hesitant on a bunch of them, the reviews were 50/50 and they just scream "fresh off the china boat."

Check out the ones listed here...