• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

To all the guys who say to double up on hearing protection at indoor ranges

If anyone has the cure for tinnitus ...please share.

Although working in an area that is over 85db cant help.

Yes I wear protection.

If anyone has the cure for tinnitus ...please share.

Although working in an area that is over 85db cant help.

Yes I wear protection.

A Guy I used to work with (Now Retired) was diagnosed with Tinnitus. He was a avid shooter & a machinist by trade.
His treatment was a induced corrective backround noise through what looked like hearing aids. Not sure if it worked or helped. I haven't seen him to ask.
Alot of people who use ear plugs are unaware they are still getting damage. There is a small bone in the back of the ear that needs to be protected. This can cause tinnitus & hearing loss.

Any idea how the NRR of foamies and muffs stack? I'd assume a set of NRR 25db foamies and NRR 25db muffs wouldn't have a combined NRR of 50db

This is a good question. I -know- empirically that there is not a genuine doubling. It's almost like there is a law of diminishing returns, but the increase in attenuation is still an order of magnitude or so.

-Mike

Any idea how the NRR of foamies and muffs stack? I'd assume a set of NRR 25db foamies and NRR 25db muffs wouldn't have a combined NRR of 50db

I used to have some info on this but can't find it at the moment. If it locate it I will post a link. The NRR does not double if you use plugs and earmuffs. If using both plugs and muffs, I believe the combined NRR provides approximately 5 decibels more than the higher rated of the two products. So if you're using plugs rated at 30 NRR and muffs rated for 27, you would end up with a total of around 35 NRR (again, I can't find the link so I could be wrong here).