1. If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

2. Dismiss Notice

Time management / task management question for you managers out there

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by blindfire, Sep 13, 2019.

1. blindfire

blindfire NES Member

I posted previously that I'm a new manager and am learning a lot.

Question for the brain trust:

How do you keep track of the various tasks you are called upon to complete by your upper management?

Use case: I'm an "escalation manager" in our tech support department. When a customer is dissatisfied, they can push a button on our website that escalates their technical case. They can also leverage their sales rep and he/she will email my VP and ask that the case be handled.

So, my VP will email me and say, "Keep an eye on this issue until its resolved."

Ok, but how do I keep track of all these very ephemeral issues? What tools do you use?

We are an O365 shop. I suppose I can use some type of reminder setup on the emails, but was curious if you all have other tools you use.

Thanks in advance.

FormerlyIndifferent likes this.
  2. drgrant

drgrant Moderator NES Member

You guys probably need a ticketing system. I am dreading the day of that bullshit coming where I work but I fear its inevitable. 80% of work these days is administratrivial crap....

CAR, JayMcB, blindfire and 2 others like this.
  3. richc

richc NES Member

What DrGrant said...

4. knoxy

knoxy NES Member

How do you track the issues? Do you have a ticket system/issue tracker? Many of those Ive used will let you subscribe to the issues you're concerned with.

Otherwise, maintain a speadsheet.

5. FormerlyIndifferent

FormerlyIndifferent

OP, your post is why I never once have regretted that I went into the manual trades after going to "management school" 30 years ago.

I hope you figure shit out to your satisfaction. Best wishes.