• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Thoughts on the Yugo M59/66 SKS?

Happy day, my C&R license has finally arrived. I know the golden era is over, but I'm still interested.

Thinking about an SKS, and noticed that REDACTED has Yugo M59/66 back in stock. Based on pics and reviews, these are usually pretty good quality. Lightly used, well stored millsurp.

Anyone have any strong opinions about these compared to other SKS? For ~$400, it seems like one of the better deals available in the current markets.

Opinions much appreciated!

Im no expert, but IMO they are very nice rifles for the most part. Possibly better craftsmanship than some even. While a lot of the chinese rifles for the U.S. commercial market cut corners from the 80's and onward, the yugos exhibit some of the nicer machining of the early chinese/russian rifles. Thats not to mention the additional complexity (and cool factor) of the grenade launching hardware. People seem to look poorly on the Yugo guns because they dont have a chrome lined bore, but Im not sure its that big a deal. They are heavier though. That would be the biggest complaint I would make. All that extra metal right out at the end of the barrel. You really notice it going directly from a Chinese gun. Is it that big a deal though?.....probably not. Overall, really nice guns. You'll likely be happy.

Love mine, and I dont shoot corrosive ammo so the non-chrome bore doesn't bother me. I wouldn't think twice about owning one of the Yugos and the price of them will only continue to go up.

If you want an sks, skip the Yugo. Look at a nice condition Chinese and a Russian . The Yugos are covered in cosmo and still imported. The other 2 you can find clean and are no longer imported. Spend the extra 100 or so.