1. If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

2. Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on moving to Virginia?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by gxx9sdb, Apr 8, 2019.

1. gxx9sdb

gxx9sdb

My family is very well-rooted in MA, but I have been itching to get out for about 10 years now. After a somewhat miraculous turn of events, the wife is getting on board with the idea, provided a few things line up. It would not happen quickly, but maybe in the next year or two.

My analytical approach to figuring out where to move to pointed us to the midwest (which does not appeal to us), but pretty close to the top of the list was also Virginia. I have never even visited Virginia, but the more I look into it, the more I think I would like it.

Provided I can figure out the job situation, I am leaning towards the western part of the state (Roanoke to Charlottesville). The only bad thing I have heard so far is that it is humid in the summer, which I think I would gladly take over freezing in MA winters.

Thoughts out there on moving to VA?

2. FiremanBob

FiremanBob NES Member

We moved from VA to NH a few months ago. VA is politically purple, quickly turning blue. If you like the mountain country, you might like Tennessee better, especially around Knoxville (named after General Henry Knox, who hailed from Boston). No personal income tax, much more freedom. In both states, the cost of living is MUCH lower than it is here. Climate is only about 10 degrees different from MA.

What do you do for work? Most of the high-paying jobs are east of the Blue Ridge mountains, in the triangle between Charlottesville, DC and Richmond. Look for companies in your industry and see where they are located.

Horrible, Choctaw and gxx9sdb like this.
  3. jct61765

jct61765 NES Member

What do you do for work? It is very hot and humid on the coast. My wife and I lived in Norfolk for a while.

gxx9sdb likes this.