• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

The Aftermath...

Hello good people of NES. When I'm scrolling through the discussions I'm seeing lots of posts on is this or that legal, political figures, what gun to buy etc. All good info in these threads, not a doubt. However, I'd like some info on what happens after a home defense/self defense shooting. I've been buying guns and all types of ammo for 8 years now and want to have more understanding of the legal side of things outside of the actual firearms themselves.

A) I know in a home defense situation, the castle doctrine applies. You may only shoot if an intruder is in your home and you believe they are about to cause great bodily harm or death to you or someone else. Now if put a hole(s) in the bad guy(s) and the cops arrive after and it's 2am. What do you do next? What if the shooting happens in the yard or driveway?

B) Let's say you're on the street and an altercation happens. Whether you initiate the argument or not, the other party pulls out a knife, bat, brass knuckles or even a handgun approaching you. You end up using your carry weapon on them in public. You call the cops and cooperate. What next? Obviously you'd want to hire a lawyer, but what can further be expected in this situation/process?

If any of you have personal experience or know someone whose had these experiences please chime in (keep in mind, I'm in MA). I've heard of that bonded warehouse place and confiscation, but I'm not clear on if and when all that happens.

Having all the cool guns is great, but I want to be knowledgable of the legal process if I must defend my life with these them. Thanks.

Last edited:
There are many, many people here well qualified to answer these questions. I'm not one of them. :)