talk to me about the Ruger GP100...

I'm looking for some feedback on the GP100 since I currently don't own any wheel guns, so have nothing to compare to. I've been eyeing them for about the past year and lately been jonesing to buy some cool new gun related toy. Part of me wants to buy another carry gun such as the p938 (probably more practical choice for the money), but then something about that sexy stainless revolver just draws me in. For those that have them, or have used them, is this a good wheel gun quality-wise, trigger pull, accuracy, etc.? What about for HD use? Thanks in advance for any guidance since as I said I am a newb with wheel guns.

Freaking awesome. Put alot of rounds through DA and it will likely not need a trigger job. Great weight, durable, and stainless sexy.

Friend had one which I shot quite a bit and enjoyed. Nice gun and I don't think you could go wrong in purchasing one. Although I prefer smith revolvers, just personal preference, there in nothing I didn't like about the gp100 buy it and enjoy it

Yes to everything you asked, they are over built, you won't wear it out. I use one for my students to shoot and lost count how many round have been thru it.

I've got the 6" stainless and don't think I'll ever part with it. I've had it for a little over 3 years now and it's a TANK. The trigger was good out of the box a little heavy but smooth. I had Greg Derr do a trigger job on it a few months after owning it which helped a lot. Made it a little lighter and slightly smoother. I've shot probably 2,000+ 357 rounds through it and maybe 1,000 38s and haven't had any issues yet. I replaced the front sight with a hi viz fiber optic site which was very easy to install took about a minute and made a world of difference with aiming/accuracy. At the time it was over $200 cheaper than a 686 (which I thought I wanted) so I used the money saved for a trigger job and bunch of ammo.