Stuck with an FID? You might be a federally prohibited person

GSG

***I am not a lawyer, but I posted a link below where you can contact several highly respected Massachusetts attorneys. What I am posting here is based on my understanding of Massachusetts and federal law; I've provided links so that you can do your own research and draw your own conclusions, but if you think that any of this may apply to you, contact a real lawyer...I'm just some guy on the Internet. [laugh]***

A sad and scary fact about the Massachusetts gun laws is that there are many people who unknowingly are federally prohibited persons, simply because of the complexity of state law and how it relates to federal law.

If you are a Massachusetts resident who has a misdemeanor conviction where the possible sentence was more than 2 years of incarceration, you are federally prohibited from possessing firearms or ammunition, even if you are eligible for or in possession of an FID card! This bizarre legal issue is the result of the wording of Massachusetts state laws and how the federal courts have interpreted them. (Keep in mind, this only applies to certain misdemeanor convictions; if your local police chief pulls the "suitability" BS on you, if you can't apply for an LTC because you're under the age of 21, or if you're statutorily prohibited from obtaining an LTC for misdemeanor convictions where the maximum possible length of incarceration was less than 2 years, then this does not apply to you).

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140 Section 131 lists what convictions will disqualify one from getting a Mass. LTC: