• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Soon-to-be new shooter - what's the Handgun / Ammo situation in MA?

Hi Everyone,

First post here from a soon-to-be new shooter and total newb to firearms - fingerprints taken mid-August so hoping to get LTC mid-October.
Anyway I've been seeing reports of handguns sold-out and ammunition too so I just wanted to see what the situation is out there in MA - say if I get my LTC mid-October
where do you recommend should I go to purchase (for example) an M&P 2.0 9mm or Sig P320 within a few days?

Thanks in advance

-Frank

Western, MA, Central, Metro Boston, North or South Shore?

Helps to know what shops you are close to.

I am curious as to your choices for handguns especially the P320 have you even got near one? I only ask because if you find one PM me it's like trying to find one of the lost treasures of the world. The wife has allowed me access to her vault of equity for such a find so now I don't know which is rarer the gun or the money.

Any suggestions on a reputable site (and my understanding is the shipping needs to be to an FFL(?) license holder within MA)?
1. We dont post sites except for Target Sport USA (has a thread). So don't ever post a place that ships ammo to MA.

2. No, all you need is a license and they can ship to your door.

3. Only p@ssies and morons don't ship to MA. It is not illegal to ship ammo to MA.

Black powder flintlocks are always available, you can make your bp if it runs out of stock. We never had shortage of flint and you can cast your own bullets.

You can check with Brian in Natick or Greg across the street.

It's pretty much total garbage, 9, .40, .45 are dried up in a lot of places. 9 is the worst. You're going to have to do some driving to find some
ammo. Expect box limits and rationing when you do find it. Well, that, and not finding any centerfire anything for less than $20 a box.