• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Someone CUT a section out of my strap!

Left the Communistwealth for Live Free or Die!
So I have been hunting an area for a few years that is hard to access but I know a homeowner who let's me park and access the woods. It is a pretty affluent neighborhood with mostly older non hunters and the only other way other than through peoples yards to the area (public) is at least a mile hike through the woods off a main road. I have seen a couple other hunters and stands but never had a problem. I had a cam set up at my stand and caught a hunter passing by last week. I took the camera out of the woods just the other day to check it. Anyway, I get to my stand, a climber I leave attached at the bottom of a tree where I have left it for the last few years and I notice the elastic strap that holds my feet in the stirrups is not only cut, but a section of it is cut out and left on the stand. It could not have been more than a day since this happened. Fresh cuts. So I managed to fix it McGyver style, check the rest of my straps and climbed up anyway for an afternoon hunt. However, I did take the stand since my guess is it was another hunter, not an anti, who was trying to flush me out of the area and I don't want to find the stand totally ruined. I figure this guy was trying to make it tough for me to climb but didn't want to go so far to destroy the stand completely. Thoughts on this?

Could have just been some neighborhood kids too. When I was a kid I found stands in the woods all the time. Never f'd em up though... Just kind of went on my way. Kind of silly looking back on it, me and my buddies running around in the woods during deer season. Sometimes we got decked out in camo when playing war games too...