• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Some tips for a totally new hunter

My brother, me, and friend of mine took a hunter safety course over the winter and are looking to start hunting this season.

Currently it is the blind leading the blind.

We are looking to bow hunt during the deer season and am wondering what we'd need for gear. Again we are total newbies and to be completely honest the MA Hunter Education course taught us pretty much nothing.

Here is what I was thinking.
1. Bow (Probably going to Teepee Archery in Acton as it was recommended to us. Open to any other recommendations. NH stores?)
2. Arrows
3. Camo
4. Tree stand
5. Hunting license
6. Deer tag

Is it more complex than this? Any other advice?
I would rather get advice from this forum than someone in an archery shop. My experience at least with gun shops is that there is a lot of bad advice out there.

Last edited:
My brother, me, and friend of mine took a hunter safety course over the winter and are looking to start hunting this season.

Currently it is the blind leading the blind.

We are looking to bow hunt during the deer season and am wondering what we'd need for gear. Again we are total newbies and to be completely honest the MA Hunter Education course taught us pretty much nothing.

Here is what I was thinking.
1. Bow (Probably going to Teepee Archery in Acton as it was recommended to us. Open to any other recommendations. NH stores?)
2. Arrows
3. Camo
4. Tree stand
5. Hunting license
6. Deer tag

Is it more complex than this? Any other advice?
I would rather get advice from this forum than someone in an archery shop. My experience at least with gun shops is that there is a lot of bad advice out there.

Welcome to the addiction. It can be as easy or as complicated as you make it.

You MUST have: