• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Some questions from a new gun owner/ hunter

Hi all. Hope this finds you well.

I mi bought my first rifle last week. It's a Savage Axis, .308.

I have a Mass DL, and my primary domicile is in MA. However my dad owns a house in NH, and I stay there mostly lately. I just passed my hunters Ed online course, and am scheduled for my hunters Ed field day on the 19th. Since I have the address in NH, but have a MA license, can I get a NH resident hunters license? I'm thinking about going to my local PD in NH and getting my resident p&r license, as the atf says I'm a resident in both states since I still dwell in NH more than 2 days a week, and keep belongings there. Would the p&r license help? 10$ vs 100$ is helpful for my hunters license.

Second question, how difficult is the field day from a new hunter/gun owner perspective? I passed the online field day qualifier exam and heard there will be another exam at the field day I need to pass. I'm kind of nervous, as hunting this year is one of the main reasons I bought this rifle.

Thanks everyone one for your help.

I cannot help you out on the residency side of your question but the can say that the field test is pretty easy. A buddy of mine took it this year and was also a little nervous going in and then told me later he was shocked at how easy it is. I wouldn't stress about that.

I cannot help you out on the residency side of your question but the can say that the field test is pretty easy. A buddy of mine took it this year and was also a little nervous going in and then told me later he was shocked at how easy it is. I wouldn't stress about that.

i appreciate your reply.

Any insight on what the day entailed? Appreciate it.