• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Some issues with my last Ar build

btnh6668

NES Member
UPDATE on post #61

I am not an AR noob but i am also far from an expert. So there are two main issues i am having with my last build. I took her out the first time two weeks ago in the rain to just try her out and had a out 7 failures to feed out of 50 rounds. So i take her out again today to get it sighted in. Out of 87 rounds (i load all my 30rd with 29) i had 5 times where it failed to pick up the next round and had another 7 or 8 failures to feed correctly. Im shooting Malaysian 556 which ive already shot 2600 through my other ar's flawlessly. It happened in 2 out of my 3 mags. The last mag ran flawless. The mags look fine, everything internally looks fine. Its a brownells bcg which i have never used before. I always use bcm but they were out of stock for a while and settled with the brownells. Any ideas?

Attachments

• 20210411_145454.jpg
    20210411_145454.jpg
    427.1 KB · Views: 83
  • 20210411_145738.jpg
    20210411_145738.jpg
    171.9 KB · Views: 83
Last edited:
For troubleshooting, throw one of your other uppers on the lower and see if it happens. If it still does, maybe buffer or buffer spring. If not,, throw the upper on one of your other lowers. Also, try another bcg and see if that changes things if concerned with it being a Brownells. Good luck

I second trying another BCG. I take it you have used these mags before with no issue?
That is correct. Mags worked fine in other ar's. I am going through the rifle now and noticed a divot on the buffer from the retainer which i have never seen in my other lowers.

Attachments

• 16181753087383441099950102336809.jpg
    16181753087383441099950102336809.jpg
    251.4 KB · Views: 78
Think i am leaning in that direction. Any preference for a 20" upper?